Skip to main content
Home

User account menu

  • Log in

Breadcrumb

  1. Home

Sanibel Island History

Image
Sanibel Island History
Abstract
The Sanibel Historical Collection presents a visual history chronicling the development of Sanibel, one of Florida's premiere destinations. Originally inhabited by the Calusa Indians, the Spanish later colonized the region until Florida was ceded to the United States. Sanibel Island houses a variety of historic landmarks, including a lighthouse built in 1884 that is still operational, and six thousand acres worth of habitat set Sanibel Island History Collection is a digital photo-album documenting the historical development of Sanibel's people, groups, organizations and institutions as well as Sanibel's environment. About: Sanibel is a barrier island on the southwest Florida coast of Lee County. The Calusa Indians preceded the Spanish to Sanibel Island and lived in more than fifteen settlements. Ponce de Leon claimed Florida for Spain in 1513, landing in Charlotte Harbor, just north of Lee County. And, in 1521, de Leon returned to Florida with two shiploads of colonists from Puerto Rico to establish the first settlement in North America. The Calusa dominated the region until they were decimated by the diseases brought by Spanish fishermen. Later, Seminole Indians who lived in Ft. Harvie, now known as Ft. Myers, actively traded with those fishermen. In 1819, Spain ceded Florida to the United States. Sanibel Island was the site of a small colony started by the Florida Peninsular land Company in 1832. To prevent shipwrecks, a lighthouse on Sanibel's east end was built in 1884. That lighthouse is still operated by the United States Coast Guard. In 1892, Sanibel built its first schoolhouse. And by the twentieth century, Sanibel Island supported flourishing farms, growing avocado, citrus, and eggplant among other crops. Wood-burning steamers brought supplies, mail, freight and passengers to the islands. Sanibel Island was declared a national wildlife refuge in 1945. Today, six thousand acres of sensitive upland and estuarine habitat are now held in the public trust by the J.N. "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge. This photo-album was produced by the Sanibel Public Library, Sanibel Historical Village and Museum, and its Local History staff in collaboration with the Southwest Florida Library Network (SWFLN) in a project funded by the State of Florida's Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grants program. Additional assistance was provided by the Digital Library Center at the University of Florida and the Florida Center for Library Automation.
Type
Collection
Rights
Copyright: The photographs in this collection belong to the Sanibel Historical Society and Village and the Sanibel Public Library, which grant permission for these images to appear in PALMM collections. The digital images may be used for research, instruction and private study as described under Fair Use as allowed below. Attribution: Citations, quotations, and use of images in this collection made under Fair Use or with permission of the copyright holder must acknowledge their source. Proper attribution includes the name of the resource, and the name and URL of the collection. For example: The Road to Duck Key, photograph, Sanibel Island History Collection, . Permissions: Users assume all liability for copyright infringement and are advised to contact the institution holding the source materials for copyright information and permission to use the electronic versions. Permission must be obtained in writing for display, publication, commercial use, or any other use of the digital materials in this collection except as allowed under Fair Use. Apply to Director, The Schoolhouse Theater, 2200 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, Florida 33957.
PURL
https://purl.flvc.org/flvc/fd/sanibel
Displaying 1 - 15 of 663

Results per page

  • 15
  • 60
  • 120
  •  List
  •  Grid

Pagination

  • 1
  • Next page
Displaying 1 - 15 of 663

Fort Myers Farm in 1950

fgcu_21467-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Year: 1950, 1950
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Contributors: Marian B. Godown
Description: An aerial view of a mainland Fort Myers area farm, circa 1950s, looking toward the Gulf of Mexico.

Shelling on Sanibel Beach

fgcu_21666-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Year: 1962, 1962
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Description: Shelling on Sanibel's beaches at low tide is an activity probably done for thousands of years. The wide beach is lined with young Australian pines. more

Eastern Tip of Sanibel Island and San Carlos Bay

fgcu_21875-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Year: 1950, 1950
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Description: Eastern tip of Sanibel Island with lighthouse, two keepers' quarters, oilhouse, and World-War II-era submarine observation tower visible. Boathouse and dock for the Coast Guard is at right, within San Carlos Bay. more

Sanibel Causeway Toll Plaza

fgcu_21473-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Year: 1973, 1973
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Description: Sanibel Causeway toll plaza, one lane open, with toll booths. Rectangular "bug-zapper" for mosquitoes is on post at middle left behind the chain-link fence. more

Map of Sanibel Area Showing Kinzie Brothers Ferry Route

fgcu_21594-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Year: 1950, 1950
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Publisher: Kinzie Brothers Steamer Line
Description: A postcard-sized brochure from the Kinzie Brother Steamer Line (front side) showing a map of San Carlos Bay and the surrounding islands and mainland and the ferry line's route between Punta Rassa and Sanibel across San Carlos Bay. more
Full Text: Kinzie Brothers Steamer Line …

Interior of Sanibel-Captiva Chamber of Commerce

fgcu_21484-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Year: 1973, 1973
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Description: Interior of Sanibel-Captiva Chamber of Commerce, with staff member showing island information to visitor at information desk. A tarpon mount hangs above desk.

Canning label of Cape Henlopen

fgcu_21558-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Description: An early canning label, of Cape Henlopen small green Lima beans.

Boat Gets Repaired

fgcu_21775-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Description: Eldon "Dad" White and John "Pegleg" Dugan examine a boat undergoing repair on Woodring Point in the 1940s. more

Canning Label

fgcu_21559-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Description: An early canning label of A & P tiny green Lima beans.

Gibson family at Their Packing House

fgcu_22055-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Description: The Gibson family and their packing house for the produce they grew, in the early 1900s at Wulfert on Sanibel. The family planted, picked, packed, built boxes for shipping, and hauled it to the dock for the steamers to pick up. Note packing boxes under construction at left. The Gibsons arrived on Sanibel in 1900.

Sanibel Causeway Toll Plaza

fgcu_22564-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Year: 1973, 1973
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Description: Sanibel Causeway toll plaza, one lane open, with toll booths. Rectangular "bug-zapper" for mosquitoes is on post at middle left behind the chain-link fence. more

Participants of the Sanibel Historic Village and Museum Homes

fgcu_21654-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Year: 1996, 1996
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Description: A museum tour of historic houses via the Sanibel Trolley was a popular fund-raiser for the Sanibel Historical Village and Museum. The tour also featured such aspects as vintage cars and exhibits at the museum, starting at the front door of the Rutland house.

View of the Nutt Family Homestead called The Gables

fgcu_21658-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Year: 1998, 1998
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Description: A view of the Nutt family homestead, shortly after it was moved a few hundred feet on the property and restored. The house, called The Gables was built by the Nutt family in 1889 when Mrs. Letizia Nutt, her three daughters, mother-in-law, and brother, came to Sanibel to homestead.

Brick Cottages

fgcu_21697-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Year: 1960, 1960
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Description: New modern cottages like Hiers By the Sea were being built on Sanibel after the advent of the Sanibel Causeway in 1963.

Burnap Cottage

fgcu_21782-Thumbnail Image.jpg
Type: Still Image
Member of: Florida Heritage Collection, Migration stub, Sanibel Island History
Description: The Brewsters owned the Burnap Cottage on Sanibel's Woodring Point from 1948 to 1967. The cottage is now a part of the Sanibel Historical Village and Museum. more

Pagination

  • 1
  • Next page

Search within Collection

Resource Type

  • Still Image (663)

Creators and Contributors

  • Tayntor family (18)
  • Marian B. Godown (17)
  • William Kimball (12)
  • Anina Glaize (11)
  • Sears family (9)
  • United States Coast Guard (9)
  • Frank Bailey (4)
  • Barnes family (2)
  • Bob Dugger (2)
  • J. [John] Stanwood Coleman (2)
  • John Stanwood Coleman (2)
  • Ron McCoy (2)
  • Charles J. McCullough (1)
  • Evelyn Pearson (1)
  • Isabel Sears (1)
  • John Powell (1)
  • Kinzie Brothers Steamer Line (1)

Publisher

  • Charles J. McCullough (3)
  • Kinzie Brother Steamer Line (2)
  • Kinzie Brothers Steamer Line (1)

Physical Form

  • electronic (663)
  • electronic resource (663)
  • nonprojected graphic (663)
  • photoprint (663)
  • remote (663)
  • videorecording (1)

Subject

Subject (name)

Temporal Subject

  • 1960 (34)
  • 1919 (2)
  • 1920 (2)
  • 1931 (2)
  • 1910 (1)

Year

  • 1574 (2)
  • 1860 (2)
  • 1880 (1)
  • 1889 (1)
  • 1890 (12)
  • 1895 (6)
  • 1900 (5)
  • 1902 (1)
  • 1903 (1)
  • 1904 (1)
  • 1908 (46)
  • 1909 (1)
  • 1910 (12)
  • 1911 (1)
  • 1912 (3)
  • 1913 (1)
  • 1914 (22)
  • 1915 (3)
  • 1916 (2)
  • 1919 (3)
  • 1920 (26)
  • 1921 (11)
  • 1922 (4)
  • 1925 (5)
  • 1926 (1)
  • 1928 (1)
  • 1929 (1)
  • 1930 (12)
  • 1933 (1)
  • 1934 (1)
  • 1936 (2)
  • 1938 (2)
  • 1939 (2)
  • 1940 (22)
  • 1942 (2)
  • 1943 (8)
  • 1944 (1)
  • 1947 (1)
  • 1948 (2)
  • 1950 (46)
  • 1951 (5)
  • 1952 (6)
  • 1953 (5)
  • 1954 (4)
  • 1955 (8)
  • 1956 (5)
  • 1957 (14)
  • 1958 (4)
  • 1959 (3)
  • 1960 (11)
  • 1961 (9)
  • 1962 (37)
  • 1963 (6)
  • 1964 (1)
  • 1965 (1)
  • 1969 (2)
  • 1970 (5)
  • 1972 (2)
  • 1973 (40)
  • 1980 (7)
  • 1982 (19)
  • 1990 (3)
  • 1991 (7)
  • 1993 (4)
  • 1994 (15)
  • 1996 (9)
  • 1998 (16)
RSS feed

This service is a partnership between Florida Virtual Campus, Library Services and the State University System of Florida & Florida College System. Privacy Statement. Accessibility Statement. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Drupal